RSS Feed (xml)

Saturday, January 19, 2008

Koh Surin

The Koh Surin archipelago, covers an area of 135 square kilometers. Laying in the Andaman Sea, it is situated 53 kilometers from the mainland Ranong Province. Additionally, it is located approximately 60km off the west coast of Phang Nga Province. It is also 100km north of the Similan Islands.

Koh Surin is an archipelago of 5 islands. Those are; Koh Surin Nuea, Koh Surin Tai, Koh Ri, Koh Khai, and Koh Klang. These 5 islands lie just south of the border with Burma.

The 2 most prominent islands - Koh Surin Nua (Northern Island) and Koh Surin Tai (Southern Island) - are separated only by a 200 metre wide straight. Both of the islands are renown for their beautiful white sands and dense forests.

The crystal clear water surrounding these islands, are famed for their quality for diving and snorkeling opportunities. The other islands are characterised as being rather rocky and covered sparsely with vegetation.

The Koh Surin Islands were totally uninhabited right up until the World War II era. When, in 1981 the region was re-classed as a National Park, people were still slow to re-locate to the area. Numbers of residents, at this time, reached around a few hundred. However, in the modern day era, the area is thriving with officials being stationed on Koh Surin Nua. Koh Surin Tai, is now also home to a small Chao Le fishing community.

The beautiful reefs of Koh Surin, are the main attractions for nature excursions as well as game fishing and the abundant marine life. The local tourism authorities are effectively safe guarding the reefs by installing mooring to buoys. This is a practical method of reducing the anchor damage to the reefs.

If you would like to enjoy the snorkeling, diving or game fishing activities available at this paradise, please contact us. We can book tours and provide any information you may require.

Contact Information

Online Contact Form

Copyright: Phuket Tour Guides

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...